Several IHPI members honored for scholarship, service

October 11, 2017

Several IHPI members honored for scholarship, service

The University of Michigan

Thirty-one faculty members were recognized for their teaching, scholarship, service and creative activities.

IHPI honored included:

  • Inbal (Billie) Nahum-Shani, research associate professor, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, will be honored with a Research Faculty Recognition Award. These honor individuals who hold at least a 75 percent appointment at the rank of research associate professor, research assistant professor, associate research scientist or assistant research scientist. Selection criteria include exceptional scholarly achievements, as evidenced by publications or other scholarly activities in any academic field of study.
  • Sarah Krein, research professor of internal medicine, Medical School; adjunct research professor, School of Nursing, will be honored with the Collegiate Research Professorship Award. This honors exceptional scholarly achievement and impact on advancing knowledge in science, engineering, health, education, the arts, the humanities or other academic field of study.
  • Ed Rothman, professor emeritus of statistics, LSA, will be honored with a Bicentennial Faculty Governance Lifetime Achievement Award. These are a one-time award presented to four former chairs of the Faculty Senate who have demonstrated a longtime commitment to faculty governance.