Impact Accelerator Award Winners

Since 2014, IHPI has recognized outstanding faculty among its membership who demonstrate a commitment to making an impact on healthcare practice or policy through their work. 

Practice and policy are defined broadly as:

  • Practice sector policies, such as for health systems and practitioners, national/professional academies, societies, and associations; and/or
  • State, federal or local policy; and/or
  • Private sector decision making, such as policies from payers, and purchasers.

Before 2017, two award levels were granted annually, one for early career faculty (assistant professor), and one for senior level faculty (associate professor/ professor). The work of each winner is summarized in a brief available by clicking his or her name below. For the 2017 award, to be presented in early 2018, one category will be used.


And the winners are...




Sanjay Saint, M.D., M.P.H., Medical School

Brant Fries, Ph.D., M.S., School of Public Health/Medical School

Early Career: 

Vineet Chopra, M.D., M.S., Medical School




Matthew M. Davis, M.D., MAPP, Medical School/School of Public Policy

Early Career: 

Julia Adler-Milstein, Ph.D., School of Information/School of Public Health

Nicholas Bagley, J.D., Law School




Darrell (Skip) Campbell, Jr., Medical School

Early Career:

Amy Bohnert, Ph.D., Medical School/VA Center for Clinical Management Research

Michelle Macy, M.D., Medical School


For full entry criteria and instructions, members of the U-M community may click here. (U-M login required)